Slider 1Slider 2Slider 3Slider 4Slider 5Slider 6Slider 7Slider 8Slider 9Slider 10


Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is comprised of diverse and experienced members including business executives, ranking government officials, and representatives of Chamber South, all with extensive skills and expertise. The Board meets monthly and provides ongoing policy direction, as well as budget approval. Our staff is employed by the Board and provides business and expansion services to the community, as well as assuming business and attraction marketing responsibilities on behalf of the Council.


Executive Board

Chairman: Elizabeth Santos, Vice President, Sime Realty Corp.

Secretary: Susana Vela, Program Director,

Treasurer: Lisa Greer, First Vice President, Community Bank

CEO/Executive Director, Michael (Mick) Jones


Ricardo Forbes, Corporate Vice President/ Chief Diversity Officer,  Baptist Health South Florida

Josie L. Diaz, BS, MHA, LHCR, Regional Director, Miami Children’s Hospital

Eleanor Winhold, Owner, Winhold Montessori Schools, Inc.

Frank  E. Irizarry, Vice President, FirstBank of Florida

Barry Johnson, President/CEO, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce

Rene Infante, Owner, Redland Market, Homestead

Enrique Ventura, President, Property Resource Management Group

Geoff Schimberg, President, Bahamas Development Management Services, LTD.

Jay Miranda, Senior Vice President and CAO, Jackson South Hospital

Donald Pybas, Owner, Pybas Enterprises, LLC

Ramon Ferrer, Area Manger External Affairs, FP&L

Terry Murphy Ph.D., President, Public Affairs Concepts

Immediate Past Chairman

Dr. James A. Thomas, MBA, Computer Systems and Software

Past EDC Chairman

Leif Gunderson, CEO/President, Kingsley Properties(First EDC Chairman)

Richard Horton, The Green Companies

Barry Johnson, President/CEO, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce

Paul Neidhart

John Breder

Joyce Masso

Al Dotson

Mary Pettit, Executive Director, The Deering Estate Foundation

Councilmember Joe Corradino, Village of Pinecrest

Mayor Ed MacDougall, Town of Cutler Bay

Lisa Greer, First Vice President, Community Bank

Barry Johnson, President/CEO, Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce

Honorary Board Member

Oliver Kerr


Advisory Board

Commissioner Dennis Moss, Miami-Dade District 9

Commissioner Lynda Bell, Miami-Dade District 8

Commissioner Juan Zapata, Miami-Dade District 11

Mayor Ed MacDougall, Cutler Bay

Vice-Mayor Ernie Sochin, Cutler Bay

Councilman Elvis R. Maldonado, City of Homestead

Mayor Cindy Lerner, Village of Pinecrest

Councilmember Joe Corradino, Village of Pinecrest

Councilmember James McDonald, Village of Pinecrest

Mayor Shelley Stanczyk, Village of Palmetto Bay

Councilmember Patrick Fiore, Village of Palmetto Bay

 Jeanne F. Jacobs, Ph.D., Campus President, Miami Dade College Homestead

Thania Rios, Associate Dean, Miami Dade College of Business

Peter England, Principal, Independent Consultant

Kemely Castro, Manager, Beacon Council

Jennifer R. Hernandez, Director, Economic Development, Beacon Council


Copyright 2013. Economic Development Council. All rights reserved